# **Member Committee's**

Hartlepool Council became a unitary authority in April 1996, having previously been part of Cleveland County Council. It is the smallest of five small unitary authorities in the Tees Valley sub-region and in population terms is one of the smallest unitary authorities in the country. It has a net revenue budget in 2017/2018 of £73m.

It has 33 Councillors. The political balance is as follows:-

Conservative Group 3
Labour Group 18
Independent Union 7
Independents 5

The Council moved to a Committee System of governance, in May 2013, followed a comprehensive public consultation exercise and referendum and at the Extraordinary Council meeting held on the 2 May 2013, Councillor Christopher Akers-Belcher was appointed as the Leader of the Council.

The membership of each of the Councils Policy and other Committees is broadly based on the overall political balance of the Council (as detailed above). Each committee fulfilling the role and remit specified within the Council's Constitution.

Membership of the Policy Committees is as follows:-

### **Finance and Policy Committee**

Cllr C Akers-Belcher Chair (Leader)

Cllr Cranney Vice-Chair (Deputy Leader)/Chair

Regeneration Services)

Cllr Thomas Chair Adult Services

Cllr Harrison Chair Children's Services

Cllr S Akers-Belcher Chair Neighbourhood Services

Cllr Brown

Cllr Marshall

Cllr Smith

**Cllr Brewer** 

Cllr Moore

Cllr Young





# **Adult and Community Based Services Committee**

Cllr Thomas Chair

Cllr McLaughlin Vice Chair

Cllr Hamilton

Cllr C Richardson

Cllr Little

Cllr Brewer

Cllr Young

### **Neighbourhood Services Committee**

Cllr S Akers-Belcher Chair

Cllr Marshall Vice Chair

Cllr Belcher

Cllr James

**Cllr Cassidy** 

Cllr Loynes

Cllr T Richardson

# **Regeneration Services Committee**

Cllr Cranney Chair

Cllr Lindridge Vice Chair

Cllr Cook

Cllr Brown

Cllr Smith

**CIIr Moore** 

**Cllr Young** 

### Children's Services Committee

Cllr Harrison Chair

Cllr Trueman Vice Chair

**Cllr James** 

Cllr Marshall

Cllr Little

Cllr Lauderdale

Cllr Moore

Co-opted Members:-

C. of E. Rep – Jo Heaton

R.C. Rep – Jo Wilson

School Head Teacher Representatives, and

Young Peoples Representatives



Hartlepool Borough Council is an equal opportunities employer.



Under the new governance arrangements, Hartlepool's Overview and Scrutiny function is focused upon its statutory Scrutiny responsibilities in relation to health and crime and disorder, as defined within the Health and Social Care Act 2012 and Police and Crime Act 2006. Responsibility for fulfilling these responsibilities sits with the Audit and Governance Committee, the membership of which includes any Member, with the exception of those who sit on the Finance and Policy Committee.

Membership of the Audit and Governance Committee is as follows:-

Cllr Loynes Chair
Cllr Tennant Vice Chair
Cllr Belcher
Cllr Cook
Cllr Hamilton
Cllr Lindridge
Cllr Hall

Plus - Independent Member(s) and Parish Council representatives when dealing with standards functions and one fully co-opted representative from a responsible local policing body during consideration of Crime and Disorder Committee matters.

The Council also has two community forums serving the 'north and coastal' and 'south and central' areas of the town. All Councillors are represented on one of these consultative forums.

The Council has a detailed written constitution, which includes decision-making procedures and a delegated decision-making scheme.



